

### MINUTES OF A MEETING OF AN EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF THE LONDON BOROUGH OF HAVERING Havering Town Hall, Romford 29 January 2014 (7.00pm – 7.27 pm)

## **Present:** The Mayor (Councillor Eric Munday) in the Chair.

Councillors June Alexander, Michael Armstrong, Clarence Barrett, Robert Benham, Becky Bennett, Sandra Binion, Jeffrey Brace, Denis Breading, Wendy Brice-Thompson, Andrew Curtin, Keith Darvill, Michael Deon Burton, Osman Dervish, Nic Dodin, David Durant, Brian Eagling, Ted Eden, Roger Evans, Gillian Ford, Georgina Galpin, Peter Gardner, Linda Hawthorn, Linda Van den Hende, Lesley Kelly, Steven Kelly, Pam Light, Barbara Matthews, Paul McGeary, Robby Misir, Ray Morgon, Pat Murray, Denis O'Flynn, Barry Oddy, Fred Osborne, Ron Ower, Garry Pain, Roger Ramsey, Paul Rochford, Geoffrey Starns, Barry Tebbutt, Frederick Thompson, Lynden Thorpe, Linda Trew, Jeffrey Tucker, Melvin Wallace, Lawrence Webb, Keith Wells, Damian White, Michael White and John Wood.

Approximately ten Members' guests and two representatives of the press were also present.

Apologies were received for the absence of Councillors John Mylod and Billy Taylor.

The Mayor advised Members and the public of action to be taken in the event of emergency evacuation of the Town Hall becoming necessary.

Prayers were said by Father Anderson of St Edward's Church, Romford.

## 68 **DISCLOSURE OF PECUNIARY INTERESTS (agenda item 3)**

There were no disclosures of interest.

# 69 TO DISCUSS THE CESSATION OF MR LOGAN'S POSITION AS A COUNCILLOR (agenda item 4)

### Motion on behalf of the Independent Residents' Group

This Council deeply regrets the notice of disqualification sent to Cllr Mark Logan despite all Members and Officers being aware of his special circumstances due to ill health.

This disqualification process may follow the letter of the law, but not the spirit of the law and brings the Council's commitment to a healthy democracy into disrepute.

Therefore this Council calls on the Mayor to seek further advice from the Local Government Association, Home Office and Electoral Commission to see if the disqualification can be overturned due to special circumstances.

And also to take measures that avoids the spiteful disqualification of a seriously ill Member happening again.

Following debate, the motion by the Independent Residents' Group was **NOT CARRIED** by 42 votes to 3 (see division 1).

Mayor 26 February 2014

## **VOTING RECORD**

	1
The Mayor [Cllr. Eric Munday]	C
The Deputy Mayor [Cllr. Linda Trew]	>
CONSERVATIVE GROUP	
Cllr. Michael White	>
Cllr. Michael Armstrong	>
Cllr. Robert Benham	>
Cllr. Becky Bennett	>
Cllr. Jeff Brace	>
Cllr. Wendy Brice-Thompson	>
Cllr. Andrew Curtin	>
Cllr. Osman Dervish	>
Cllr. Roger Evans Cllr. Georgina Galpin	>
Clir. Peter Gardner	
Clir. Lesley Kelly	>
Clir. Steven Kelly	>
Cllr. Pam Light	>
Cllr. Robby Misir	>
Cllr. Barry Oddy	>
Cllr. Gary Pain	>
Cllr. Roger Ramsey	>
Cllr. Paul Rochford	>
Cllr. Geoffrey Starns	>
Cllr. Billy Taylor	A
Cllr. Barry Tebbutt	>
Cllr. Frederick Thompson	>
Cllr. Lynden Thorpe	0
Cllr. Melvin Wallace	>
Clir. Keith Wells	>
Cllr. Damian White	- '
RESIDENTS' GROUP	
Clir. Clarence Barrett	>
Cllr. June Alexander	>
Cllr. Nic Dodin	>
Cllr. Brian Eagling	0
Cllr. Gillian Ford	>
Cllr. Linda Hawthorn	>
Cllr. Barbara Matthews	C
Cllr. Ray Morgon	>
Cllr. John Mylod	A
Cllr. Ron Ower	(
Cllr. Linda Van den Hende	>
Cllr. John Wood	0
LABOUR GROUP	
Cllr. Keith Darvill	>
Cllr. Denis Breading	>
Cllr. Paul McGeary	>
Cllr. Pat Murray	>
Cllr. Denis O'Flynn	>
	_
INDEPENDENT LOCAL RESIDENTS' GROUP	_
Cllr. Jeffery Tucker	
Cllr. Michael Deon Burton Cllr. David Durant	
C David Burdin	+
UNITED KINGDOM INDEPENDENCE PARTY	+
Cllr. Lawrence Webb	>
Cllr. Sandra Binion	>
Cllr. Ted Eden	>
Cllr. Fred Osborne	>
	_
TOTALS V = YES	3
	4
X = NO	
X = NO O = ABSTAIN/NO VOTE	6
X = NO	6